top of page

Our Economical Issues in the lyrics of Reminiscing.


Although my song doesn’t directly show any social issues, I spoke about them in my personal perspective. A big social issue would be the lack of economic opportunity and neighborhoods that primarily have hispanics and african americans living in them. In one specific bar, in my song “Reminiscing” I spoke about my family and I, struggling to afford food and proper clothing through my adolescent life.

“Remember cold nights with nothing to eat?

Remember rainy days with holes in my feets?

Remember late nights just roaming the streets?”

It hurts knowing that people, including myself were not able to afford the nicest clothes and spent most of the time scraping pennies together since both my parents were the only ones that worked. It sounds like there would be some money here and there but it’s a known fact that hispanics and african americans get paid least of all when it comes to all race. The average pay rate for Hispanics and African Americans working part and fulltime is $12 to $14, meanwhile for Asians and White’s it is from $17, up to $24 an hour according to a 2015 study. Being an Afro-Latino artist I want better for not only for my family but for my community and my people. I plan on using my music to spread my revolution and show that we are better than what they think we are. Another bar I used to speak on the neighborhoods would be

“That's why I’m always standing tall and I’m out here grinding

Till the day I move my family to a private island”

I say this because the neighborhood that Hispanics and African Americans live in were always perceived as dangerous and a place filled with bad people, so moving my family to a private island has always been a dream of mine so we can get away from the dirty looks that people give when they stereotype us and the negativity it brings to everyone.


bottom of page