top of page

The Reasons Behind "Reminiscing"


Verse 1

I got the power in my hands the knowledge in my brain

I got the wisdom in my heart the music in my veins

So much on my mind, how am I sane

Fighting all these negatives in my own way

Remember cold nights with nothing to eat?

Remember rainy days with holes in my feets?

Remember late nights just roaming the streets?

Now on a mission looking for peace going head first no intention of

retreat

Pops told me stay humble and to work in silence

Moms told me to spread love and stop the violence

That's why I’m always standing tall and I’m out here grinding

Till the day I move my family to a private island

I love my city but I think we need some time apart

Remember sitting in my hood up in bushwick Park

smoking mary Jane till the whole damn sky was dark

Thinking how to get that marvel money Tony Stark

Now I’m sitting here just reminiscing in my old school people were so pessimistic

But I always kept it real and was optimistic

and let me not forget kinda Cabalistic.

I have so much to do in such little time I have so much to say in these little rhymes

I just gotta focus on the prize and take my time

and when the moments right just go claim what's mine yo

*Hook* {Hook from 1:29-2:14}

So i said I’m sitting here just reminiscing remembering all my struggles that were so consistent and life is a challenge so I will not resist it I’ll just get back to the grind gotta stay persistent (3x)

“I got the power in my hands the knowledge in my brain, I got the wisdom in my heart the music in my veins” is basically me saying that I have the power to create new things, to teach others younger and older than me and to learn from those who choose to teach me.

“So much on my mind, how am I sane

Fighting all these negatives in my own way” There’s so many things that go through my mind, I never stop thinking to the point where I wonder how have I not gone insane, negativity roams through life and it's a constant fight for peace and positivity.

“Remember cold nights with nothing to eat?

Remember rainy days with holes in my feets?

Remember late nights just roaming the streets?” This is where I reminisce about my past. Having nothing in the fridge or cabinets, having to go to school with holes in my shoes hoping that no one notices and decides to spread it to the rest of the class. Dealing with so many issues that long walks late at night were my escape to my problems, and at the same time were the realization to my solutions.

“Now on a mission looking for peace going head first no intention of Retreat”

Basically, hoping to find the road to peace in my life, and when I do find the way, I plan on following it without ever looking back.

“Pops told me stay humble and to work in silence

Moms told me to spread love and stop the violence”

When I was younger my father always taught me to stay true to myself and to never announce my movements and actions, meanwhile my mother would always teach me to be kind and compassionate while killing not so nice people with kindness.

“That's why I’m always standing tall and I’m out here grinding

Till the day I move my family to a private island”

I go to school and work, I never catch a break but its all for my family so I can make their life great. I do all of this work for them, to prove that I can become something. I grew up watching them struggle and I want to change that for them as soon as possible.

“I love my city but I think we need some time apart

Remember sitting in my hood up in Bushwick Park

smoking mary Jane till the whole damn sky was dark

Thinking how to get that marvel money, Tony Stark “

I’ve lived in New York my whole life, I’ve watched a lot of things change. I feel like some time away from the city would be good for me and my mind, to just get away from my thoughts and stress. Bushwick park was near my house which I went to frequently to escape from the world, smoking while thinking of million dollar ideas.

“Now I’m sitting here just reminiscing in my old school people were so pessimistic

But I always kept it real and was optimistic

and let me not forget kinda Cabalistic.”

When I first came to City As High School, it was a lot different from my previous school, people were helpful, caring and really amazing individuals which I wasn’t used to seeing in my old school.

“I have so much to do in such little time, I have so much to say in these little rhymes

I just gotta focus on the prize and take my time

and when the moments right just go claim what's mine yo”

These lines are about graduation and me having so little time to accomplish this goal I want to meet. I know I just have to focus on finishing up the rest of the little credits I need to give in but not rush it or else it’ll never happen. When everything happens I know it’ll be at the right time.


bottom of page